The School of Oncology – Training in Translational Oncology for Scientists and Clinicians

Cross-disciplinary scientific and clinical interaction © Tobias Schwerdt/DKFZ

Cross-disciplinary scientific and clinical interaction © Tobias Schwerdt/DKFZ

To compete internationally, scientists need systematic and structural support as well as continued education. This and the integration into an attractive and innovative science community are the central concerns of the DKTK School of Oncology. With our training of medical scientists and clinician scientists we promote the mutual understanding of needs in basic research and clinical application which will facilitate the bidirectional communication and interaction between research and clinic.

Clinicians as well as basic scientists receive the opportunity of continuous insight into translational cancer research and multicenter clinical oncology straight from the beginning of their professional career.

Within DKTK School of Oncology junior researchers can take part in a cross-disciplinary training program in translational cancer research. Clinicians and basic scientists learn to link scientific and clinical tasks through close collaboration and extensive exchange. At the same time they learn to efficiently transfer research results into the clinic. The program of the School of Oncology is closely tied to the training offers at the local Graduate Schools of the partner sites. Additionally to these offers, clinician scientists and medical scientists in postgraduate training have the opportunity to participate in various courses, e.g. the Annual International Cancer Core Europe Summer School in Translational Cancer Research, further training seminars and workshops as well as lecture series and exchange programs which all focus on translational oncology.

Objectives

  • Promoting cross-disciplinary training and exchange of medical and clinician scientists in patient-side disciplines
  • Establishment of structured training modules in translational cancer research for basic researchers and clinicians scientists.
  • Establishment of an interactive nationwide network of talented medical scientists and clinician scientists in DKTK.

Strategy

The DKTK School of Oncology offers complementary activities to curricula of the DKTK partner site programs in training and education covering all relevant aspects of translational cancer research. The School trains in cross-disciplinary communication and collaboration, aiming at faster transfer of results from basic research into clinical application as well as addressing reverse translation of clinically relevant questions back to laboratory research:

Interest to become a School of Oncology fellow?

Eligible are individuals who are

  • Residents / Clinicians until finished residency (Clinician Scientists)
  • Scientists with medical background, up to 6 years after obtaining one’s doctorate (Medical Scientists)

Please get in contact with your local DKTK School of Oncology coordinator.

We use cookies to make our website more user-friendly. Further information can be found in the data protection policy (privacy policy). To data protection policy

Ok

Die School of Oncology – Spezialisierungsmöglichkeit für Mediziner und Naturwissenschaftler in translationaler Onkologie

Bereichsübergreifende wissenschaftliche und klinische Interaktion © Tobias Schwerdt

Bereichsübergreifende wissenschaftliche und klinische Interaktion © Tobias Schwerdt

Damit WissenschaftlerInnen international konkurrenzfähig sind, müssen sie systematisch und strukturiert gefördert werden und sich weiterbilden können. Das und die Integration in ein attraktives und herausforderndes Wissenschaftsumfeld sind die zentralen Anliegen der DKTK School of Oncology. Wir fördern mit der Ausbildung von Naturwissenschaftlern und forschenden Ärzten den Aufbau von Führungsnachwuchs in der translationale Forschung, um die Lücke zwischen Grundlagenforschung und klinischer Anwendung zu schließen.

Ärzten und Wissenschaftlern wird bereits zu Beginn ihrer beruflichen Laufbahn die Möglichkeit gegeben, kontinuierlich Einblicke in die translationale Krebsforschung und multidisziplinäre, klinische Onkologie zu gewinnen.

Im DKTK können junge Talente in der School of Oncology an einem intensiven Ausbildungs- und Trainingsprogramm teilnehmen. Ärzte und Wissenschaftler lernen hierbei durch enge Zusammenarbeit und intensiven Austausch, wissenschaftliche und klinische Aufgaben miteinander zu verknüpfen und Forschungsergebnisse zeitnahe in die Klinik zu übertragen. Das Programm der School of Oncology ist stark an die Ausbildungsangebote der Graduate Schools der jeweiligen Partnerinstitute angeknüpft. Ergänzend wird Doktoranden, Ärzten in der Ausbildung und Jungwissenschaftlern die Möglichkeit geboten, an DKTK Seminaren, der DKTK Summer School, der jährlichen DKTK Nachwuchskonferenz, Vorlesungsreihen und Austauschprogrammen teilzunehmen, deren Fokus auf translationaler Onkologie liegt.

Ziele

  • Vereinfachung interdisziplinärer Interaktionen zwischen Wissenschaftlern und Ärzten bzw. Forschung und Klinik
  • Förderung regelmäßiger Weiterbildungsangebote zur Gewährleistung der Exzellenz im Bereich Onkologie
  • Professionelles Mentoring-Angebot in translationaler Krebsforschung für Wissenschaftler und Ärzte
  • Etablierung von Trainingsprogrammen im Bereich translationale Forschung für Experten ohne medizinischen Hintergrund
  • National und international in Führung gehen im Bereich Aus- und Weiterbildung in translationaler Krebsforschung

Strategie

Die DKTK School of Oncology bietet ergänzend zu den Programmen der Partnerstandorte Aktivitäten an, die alle relevanten Aspekte translationaler Krebsforschung und der Karriereentwicklung abdecken. Naturwissenschaftler und Ärzte sind dabei in lokale Programme integriert und setzen ein translationales Forschungsprojekt am jeweiligen Partnerstandort um. Ergänzend dazu bietet die DKTK School of Oncology spezifische Aktivitäten an, die darauf abzielen, die interdisziplinäre Kommunikation und Zusammenarbeit zu erleichtern und somit Ergebnisse der Grundlagenforschung zum Wohl der Patienten schneller in die Klinik und klinisch relevante Fragestellungen schneller in die Forschung zu übertragen.